Know the 9 Avatars of Maa Durga!

Durga is a form of Shakti and is worshipped in different forms. Maa Durga was born when Bhrahma, Vishnu and Mahesh were troubled by the atrocities of Mahishasura and their powers did no harm to him. Maa Durga wonderfully fought the battle against demons and killed the Mahisasura. The evolution of the three forms of Shakti i.e. MahaSaraswati, MahaLaxmi and Mahakali took place from Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh respectively. Each of these three deities gave rise to three more forms and as a consequence, these nine forms together are known as Navadurga.

Each goddess comprises a different form and a special significance. Here are the details of the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Navaratri Day 1: Shailputri

“Shail” means mountains, “Putri” means daughter. Shailputri is the daughter of the King of the Mountains  Himavan. She is the first form amongst Navadurga and  is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri – the nine  divine nights. Known as the goddess of inspiration, Devi  Shailputri is the personification of the power of Brahma,  Vishnu and Shiva. She rides on mount Nandi, holds a  trident in right hand and a lotus in left hand.


Navaratri Day 2: Brahamcharini


She is the second form of Mother Goddess and is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace. She holds a “Kamandal” or water pot with left hand and a rosary with right hand. She personifies love, showcases knowledge and wisdom and is a “taspaswini” roop of goddess.

Navaratri Day 3: Chandraghanta


The third form of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta who is worshipped on the third day of Navaratri, for peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. She has a half moon on her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. She is charming, has a golden bright complexion and rides a lion.

Navaratri Day 4: Kushmanda


The goddess of purifying austerity, Kushmanda is the fourth form of the mother goddess and is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. Her mount is the tiger and emanates a solar aura. She possessed of eight arms, holding a weapons and a mala.

Also Read:


Navaratri Day 5: Skanda Mata


The fifth aspect of the Mother Durga is known as ‘Skanda Mata‘ – the mother Lord Kartikeya and is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri. According to Hindu mythology, she was chosen by gods as their commander in chief in the war against the demons. She is accompanied by the Lord Skanda in his infant form.

Navaratri Day 6: Katyayani


The sixth form of Mother Durga is known as ‘Katyayani’, who is worshiped on the six day of Navaratri. The name holds a very interesting story that there was a great sage called Rishi Katyayana. He was very famous and renowned in the lineage of saints. He wished to have a daughter in the form of a goddess. According to his wish and desire the Mother Goddess granted his request. Katyayani was born as an avatar of Durga.

Navaratri Day 7: Kaalratri


Kaalratri is the seventh form of Mother Durga and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navaratri. Known as the fiercest form of the Mother Goddess, she features a dark complexion, bedraggled hair and a fearlessness posture. She holds a thorn-like weapon in left upper hand, a dragger in the lower left hand and her vehicle is a faithful donkey. She is the destroyer of darkness and ignorance.

Navaratri Day 8: MahaGauri


She is worshipped on the eighth day of Navaratri. MahaGauri is intelligent, peaceful, calm and features a beautiful aura that radiates her divine aura. She is often dressed in a white or green sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding a bull.

Navaratri Day 9: Siddhidatri


Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess and is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri. There are eight Siddhis, they are- Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva. Siddhidatri has supernatural healing powers. It is believed that in “Devipuran” the Lord Shiva got all these Siddhies by worshipping Maha Shakti. With her blessings the half body of Shiv has become of Goddess and his “Ardhanarishvar” form came into significance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *