Chaitra Navratri 2018

See More

Know the 9 Avatars of Maa Durga: Durga is a form of Shakti and is worshipped in different forms. Maa Durga was born when Bhrahma, Vishnu and Mahesh were troubled by the atrocities of Mahishasura and their powers did no harm to him. Maa Durga wonderfully fought the battle against demons and killed the Mahisasura. The evolution of the three forms of Shakti i.e. MahaSaraswati, MahaLaxmi and Mahakali took place from Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh respectively. Each of these three deities gave rise to three more forms and as a consequence, these nine forms together are known as Navadurga. Navaratri Day 1: Shailputri: “Shail” means mountains, “Putri” means daughter. Shailputri is the daughter of the King of the Mountains Himavan. She is the first form amongst Navadurga and is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri – the nine divine nights. Known as the goddess of inspiration, Devi Shailputri is the personification of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. She rides on mount Nandi, holds a trident in right hand and a lotus in left hand. Navaratri Day 2: Brahamcharini: She is the second form of Mother Goddess and is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace. She holds a “Kamandal” or water pot with left hand and a rosary with right hand. She personifies love, showcases knowledge and wisdom and is a “taspaswini” roop of goddess. Navaratri Day 3: Chandraghanta: The third form of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta who is worshipped on the third day of Navaratri, for peace, tranquility, and prosperity in life. She has a half moon on her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. She is charming, has a golden bright complexion and rides a lion. Watch videos for more.

Top Playlist

See all
house of god
house of god